Army - Two or more Corps

Two or more Corps

Size symbol:
Army Size Symbol

All other organizations larger than a Corps are generically termed "army." An Army has three levels, all dependent upon the size and scope of the conflict. These levels are a "Theater Army," a "Field Army," and an "Army Group."

An Army is normally commanded by a "full" General (O-10) and assisted by a Command Sergeant Major and a large Army's staff. An example is the 3rd U.S. Army, with headquarters at Fort McPherson, GA.


Command Sergeant Major

As a side note, the largest tactical formation used in combat operations is the Army Group, composed of two or more field armies. However, formations of this size have not been employed since World War II. (GEN Schwartzkopf commanded a field army during Operation Desert Storm.)